The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) of 2018 took effect in January 2020, and starting Wednesday, July 1st 2020 the state’s attorney general can fine companies up to $7,500 for each violation. The final regulations have not been approved so far by the California Office of Administrative Law. But, enforcement will begin without official sign-off, according to Attorney General Xavier Becerra.
The CCPA law does not apply to smaller businesses and ones who do not make their money primarily from data collection.
The law applies to businesses with gross annual revenue of $25 million that buy, collect or sell personal information of at least 50,000 people and get at least half their revenue from selling that information.